

## PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

December 12, 2016

**Contact:** Julia Kent (202) 461-3874 / <u>ikent@cgs.nche.edu</u>

## Nancy Marcus of Florida State University to Serve as Chair of CGS Board Three New Members to Join Board in 2017

Washington, DC – The Council of Graduate Schools (CGS) Board of Directors has announced its officers for the 2017 term. CGS is governed by a 12-member Board of Directors drawn from member institutions. Board members serve for set terms.

**Dr. Nancy Marcus**, dean of the Graduate School at Florida State University, was announced the 2017 Board Chair at the conclusion of the 2016 CGS Annual Meeting. Appointed graduate dean in 2005, Marcus' responsibilities include oversight of the education of approximately 8,500 graduate and professional students. During her tenure as Dean, Marcus has sought to enhance and complement the experience graduate students gain in their individual academic units by establishing programs such as the Office of Graduate Fellowship and Awards, The Fellows Society to promote interdisciplinary engagement, fellowships for international study, and an online tracking system to monitor graduate student progress.

"CGS is honored to have Dr. Marcus' expertise during this important time in graduate education. She has provided exceptional leadership to The Graduate School at Florida State University and will help advance CGS' mission to meet the evolving needs of our member institutions," said CGS President Suzanne T. Ortega.

The new Chair-elect, Dr. **Karen Butler-Purry** has served as the associate provost for graduate and professional studies at Texas A&M University since 2010. In addition, Butler-Purry is a professor in the department of electrical and computer engineering and has experience in graduate education as a faculty member, administrator, researcher, and program leader. Under Butler-Purry's leadership, the TAMU Office of Graduate and Professional Studies (OGAPS) added a new initiative to promote and support graduate student participation in professional development opportunities aligned closely with the university's Quality Enhancement Plan, *Aggies Commit to Learning for a Lifetime*.

Beginning their three-year terms on the board on January 1, 2017, are **Dr. John McCarthy**, senior vice provost for academic affairs and dean of the Graduate School at University of Massachusetts Amherst; **Dr. Paula McClain**, dean of the Graduate School and vice provost of graduate education at Duke University; and **Dr. Josephine Nalbantoglu**, dean of graduate and postdoctoral studies at McGill University.

**Dr. M.J.T. ("Mark") Smith**, dean of the Graduate School at Purdue University, will remain on CGS's Executive Committee for one year as immediate past chair.

"Dr. Smith has provided outstanding leadership during his term as CGS Board Chair," Ortega said. "He has contributed greatly to the success of graduate students at his own institution and to graduate education more broadly in his efforts to improve faculty diversity."

###

The Council of Graduate Schools (CGS) is an organization of approximately 500 institutions of higher education in the United States and Canada engaged in graduate education, research, and the preparation of candidates for advanced degrees. The organization's mission is to improve and advance graduate education, which it accomplishes through advocacy in the federal policy arena, research, and the development and dissemination of best practices.