

Council of Graduate Schools

PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

December 14, 2011

Contact: Belle Woods (202) 223-3791 / bwoods@cgs.nche.edu

Lisa Tedesco of Emory University to Serve as Chair of CGS Board Five Board members elected

Lisa Tedesco of Emory University became the 2012 Chair of the Council of Graduate Schools' (CGS) Board of Directors at CGS's 51st Annual Meeting last week. Since 2006, Dr. Tedesco has served as Vice Provost for Academic Affairs – Graduate Studies and Dean of the James T. Laney School of Graduate Studies. She is a professor in the Rollins School of Public Health, Department of Behavioral Sciences and Health Education. Dr. Tedesco began her service on the CGS Board of Directors in 2010.

Prior to joining Emory University, Dr. Tedesco spent fourteen years at the University of Michigan, first as professor and associate dean in the School of Dentistry and later served as vice president and secretary of the university, and in 2001 as interim provost. Throughout her academic and administrative career, Dr. Tedesco has been involved with programs to increase student and faculty diversity on campus, with emphasis on minority youth access to and preparation for careers in the health care professions. She earned her doctorate in educational psychology from the University at Buffalo, State University of New York.

"Dr. Tedesco has a deep commitment to ensuring graduate schools, employers, and policymakers work together to enhance U.S. graduate education and maintain its status as the gold standard around the world," said CGS President Debra W. Stewart. "CGS is honored to have her as our board chair."

The new Chair-elect is **Robert Augustine**, Dean of the Graduate School, Research and International Programs at Eastern Illinois University. He is also a professor in the Department of Communication Disorders and Sciences.

Beginning three-year terms on the board are **Maureen Grasso** of the University of Georgia, **Mark J. T. Smith** of Purdue University, and **Pamela C. Stacks** of San Jose State University. **Barbara A. Knuth** of Cornell University was elected for a two-year term and **Ramona Mellott**, of Northern Arizona University was elected for a one-year term.

CGS is governed by a 12-member Board of Directors drawn from member institutions. Board members are nominated and elected by the full membership for set terms. **Patrick Osmer** of The Ohio State University will remain on CGS's Executive Committee for one year as immediate past chair.

###

The Council of Graduate Schools (CGS) is an organization of over 500 institutions of higher education in the United States and Canada engaged in graduate education, research, and the preparation of candidates for advanced degrees. Among U.S. institutions, CGS members award 92% of the doctoral degrees and 77% of the master's degrees.* The organization's mission is to improve and advance graduate education, which it accomplishes through advocacy in the federal policy arena, research, and the development and dissemination of best practices.

^{*} Based on data from the 2010 CGS/GRE Survey of Graduate Enrollment and Degrees